Guilt, sweet guilt

I just got back from visiting with my folks in Jacksonville, FL.  We had a great time, but I knew my newfound vegetarianism would be uncomfortable for my mom.  She derives enjoyment from cooking and most especially when family is in town.  She prepares lovely meals, some of them our family legacy such as chicken and noodles or ham, potatoes and cabbage.  I knew that my being vegetarian would be taking away something special.  It would take away hours of her planning what she’d fix and what to buy at the store. Not only that, it takes away that sense of nurturing that a mother gets from feeding her family.  It takes away the “that was real good, mama.”  Man, did I feel guilty!  However, I told her we’d go shopping when I got to town.

DSCN1717

My parents are in their early 80’s and live on a modest retirement income.  We hit the stores in my mom’s local circuit – Walmart, Winn Dixie & Target.

mom and dad at Walmart

Where I live, I only have only found a few meat replacement options I like, but Yves makes some decent hamburger replacement and Veggie Patch makes some awesome veggie burgers so between my vegetable meals I can add meat replacers from time to time.  For this trip I opted to try to stay as close to what Mom was cooking as possible, meaning that most meals contained meat replacers.   They ate hamburgers and hot dogs, so did I.  They made lasagna, so did I.  We co-existed peacefully…but I missed my veggie meals.  There’s nothing better than steamed broccoli with broccoli gravy.  That’s where I puree some broccoli with a bit of butter and cheese and pour it over the rest of the broccoli.  Yeah, I missed just eating vegetables – but you gotta do what you gotta do, and I was really happy with the variety of great tasting meat replacement foods I found at the local stores.

Every once in a while I asked the family to try my “meat”.  Dad, at first, was adamant, “I eat meat!” But as the days passed, he took bites of the veggie Italian sausage and the veggie burger.  Mom was an easier sell.  I think she was curious to find out if the non-meat tasted any good.  She was quite surprise when she realized that most of what I ate tasted very similar to the real thing,.  I was going to try to get them to do a Meat Free Monday, but the idea was still too new.  I’ll try to get them into it the next trip down.  My brother just returned from being stationed in Bahrain, and lives across the street from my parents.  I think my brother and his family would go along with a meat-free Monday…so I just need to work on Dad….

Dad looking intimidating!

Dad looking intimidating!

He’s actually quite a pussy cat…but he’ll need some charming to agree to Meat Free Monday.  That’s okay, I have a few months to work on him!

One comment on “Guilt, sweet guilt

  1. trinkets says:

    Hey! Thanks for the ping back and good luck with your veggie adventures!

Leave a Reply

